Prayer and Peace

grandma

Over the weekend our family lost this wonderful lady. She was a wife, mother, daughter, sister,  grandmother, great grandmother, and friend. To me she was grandma.

I have many memories of this beautiful woman, but my favorite was going with her to beading classes. She is the reason I know so much about making jewelry. My grandma was one of the best, I may be impartial, but her pieces definitely speak for themselves. I believe she is the reason why we were given such creative brains, as she could knit, crochet, sew, and much more.

jewelry

My grandmother had spunk, and usually spoke her mind. Eric and I laughed many times with her “tell it like it is” attitude. Maybe it was the “I am old, and just don’t care what people think” stage of life. Regardless it was awesome to see many people cringe at her expense.

I was blessed to see her last month while visiting California. I will not remember how dementia had taken over her body, or that she didn’t really know who I was. What I will remember most was this look of peace at times while she prayed. She had always been wise, and loved God.

After I got the call, I burst into tears. I knew she was in a better place, but I had a hard time feeling that. I decided to pray, and ask God to take care of my grandma. At that moment a calm washed over me, and I felt the presence of not only my grandma, but also my grandfather. She had been reunited with her true love, and was in the place we all hope to go when we die.

I am human and will be mourning her for some time, but I am excited that she has a dementia free body and is holding hands once again with my grandfather.

1-Thess-5-18-give-thanks

One thought on “Prayer and Peace

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your grandmother. My grandmothers passed in 1990 and 1998, and I miss them both everyday. But their memories live on in my heart, and their spirits guide me in my daily life. You were truly blessed to have such a wonderful grandmother!

    Like

Leave a Reply

